Friday, May 24, 2024
Home NFLKansas City Chiefs Kansas City Chiefs close in on two NFL championships: Which teams have won two Super Bowl titles in a row?

Kansas City Chiefs close in on two NFL championships: Which teams have won two Super Bowl titles in a row?

by Moxieplay

The Kansas City Chiefs advanced to the AFC Championship Game for the sixth consecutive year, where they will face the Baltimore Ravens as visitors.

After defeating the Buffalo Bills, the Chiefs moved to within two wins of becoming the first back-to-back NFL champions since the New England Patriots did it in the 2003 and 2004 seasons.

While the road is still pretty tough for Andy Reid and the Chiefs, people are starting to wonder if and how many teams have managed to win two Super Bowls in consecutive years.

In NFL history there are several franchises that have won in back-to-back years, and even one that has done it twice, in what is truly a unique achievement.

The beginning of the Super Bowl, dominated by Vince Lombardi and the Packers

From the NFL’s beginnings on September 17, 1920 until the 1960s, the champion team was defined by whoever finished with the best record in a season.

In 1960, Lamar Hunt created the AFL, and he was the founding owner of the Kansas City Chiefs, the first team in the new league, along with other franchises which were:

  • Oakland Raiders
  • Los Angeles Chargers
  • Buffalo Bills
  • Miami Dolphins
  • Houston Oilers (Tennessee Titans)
  • N.Y. Titans (Jets)
  • Dallas Texans (Cowboys)
  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Denver Broncos
  • Boston Patriots (New England)

The NFL decided to merge the two leagues to play a single US football title game, and in 1967 the first Super Bowl, then known as the World Championship Game, was played between the Packers and the Chiefs, with Vince Lombardi’s team winning 35-10, and was played at the Los Angeles Coliseum on 15 January 1967.

Who are the teams that have been champions in consecutive years in the NFL?

Green Bay Packers

The first team to win two Super Bowls in a row were the Green Bay Packers, in the first two editions of the game, when the game was still called the World Championship Game, under the legendary Vince Lombardi.

The Packers defeated the Chiefs and Oakland Raiders to become the first two-time NFL champions.

Miami Dolphins

Don Shula’s Miami Dolphins went on to win Super Bowl VII and VIII, defeating Washington and Minnesota.

The first of those two Miami titles has special significance, as they are so far the only team to win a Super Bowl undefeated for the entire season.

Pittsburgh Steelers, the only two-time winner

The famous “Steel Curtain” Pittsburgh Steelers defeated Minnesota and Dallas in the 9th and 10th editions, respectively, with one of the greatest teams of all time.

With names like coach Chuck Noll, Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, Lynn Swann, John Stallworth, Joe Greene, Mel Bount, Jack Lambert and Mike Webster, all Hall of Famers.

Pittsburgh is the only team to have won twice in consecutive years, as they went on to win two years in a row in XIII (vs Dallas) and XIV (Rams).

San Francisco 49ers

The San Francisco 49ers of Joe Montana and Bill Walsh did it by winning Super Bowl XXIII and XXIV with the famous West Coast Offense.

The Californians defeated first Cincinnati and then Denver to become two-time champions.

Dallas Cowboys

The 1990s will undoubtedly be remembered in the NFL for two teams: the Dallas Cowboys and the Buffalo Bills.

Dallas beat the Buffalo Bills two years in a row in Super Bowls XXVII and XXVIII under coach Jimmy Johnson, along with Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith and Michael Irving.

The Bills are the only team to reach Super Sunday four times in a row, losing all four.

Denver Broncos

Coach Mike Shanahan’s Denver Broncos won XXXII and XXXIII, after beating the Packers and the Atlanta Falcons. It was a worthy farewell and an unbeatable setting for the retirement of one of the best quarterbacks of all time: John Elway.

New England Patriots

Undoubtedly one of the best dynasties in history was the team led by Bill Belichick, and commanded from the field by Tom Brady.

Although the duo won the NFL title game six times, they were only able to do it once in consecutive years.

The Patriots defeated the Carolina Panthers in Super Bowl XXXVIII and the Philadelphia Eagles in Super Bowl XXXIX.

You may also like

Latest Articles

About MoxiePlay

The Ultimate Online Football Media Connection for Women!


Join us for a unique blend of sports information, entertainment and interaction, all in one location!


©2023 – MoxiePlay – All Right Reserved 

Update Required Flash plugin